Being Thankful for the Contrast

I’m sitting here typing away, feeling fine, no aches-pains-dizziness-weakness, just feeling fine.  But recently I was very ill for a month, pneumonia. I was weak, confused, and barely able to draw a breath for a while. Thoughts blew through my mind like autumn leaves, I really thought I was a goner for a while, what would happen to my kids, my mother that I care for? My 13 room house and outbuildings just full of stuff, who would deal with all that? My life was so unfinished. Contrast is what makes things visible, and  this experience illuminated something I usually take for granted, my health. Well, thanks to modern antibiotics, I’m still here. All better now. And every day I wake up feeling that I’ve been granted an extension on things. I’ve started chipping away at the detrius of my life to try and reduce and bring order to it.  I can’t really love my kids anymore than I already do, but every day with them is a blessing and every day they are closer to self-sufficiency. I run up and down the stairs as I always have, but I don’t take it for granted anymore.

So this is what I’m thankful for at the moment, I’m thankful for many things, but this is what’s in focus for me.  I realize how privileged I am compared to so many in the world, and of all the things I take for granted. That’s why global awareness is so important, it offers the contrast we need to really see things.  

This post was created as part of a global groundswell of gratitude called TweetsGiving. The celebration, created by US nonprofit Epic Change, is an experiment in social innovation that seeks to change the world through the power of gratitude. I hope you’ll visit the TweetsGiving site to learn more, and to bring your grateful heart to the party by sharing your gratitude, and giving in honor of that for which you’re most thankful.

3 Responses to Being Thankful for the Contrast

  1. Ct Kingston says:

    Roger! Good to have you back from your near death experience. There was a time when we all got a bit too nervous! Keep “chipping away at the detrius” -Happy Tweetsgiving and thanks for the great post. And thanks for you.

  2. Ninibaseema says:

    Roger, this was a beautiful blog. I too think that health is one of the greatest gifts and we can’t be thankful enough for actually being healthy. I once had a very similar experience, not pneumonia but a problem that was rather longlasting and I know how it feels to be happy to just make it to the next moment and everything else is far away! ;* Happy tweetsgiving to u and your beloved ones!

  3. I am thankful you are well, Roger. We were all very worried about you. Nothing was the same with you so quiet and sick. I shudder to think what would happen to SMOKY!!!! (notice I didn’t misspell “shudder” hee)

    So glad you’re well and your fingers are flying across the keyboard again.

    I am thankful for you, AMIGO : )

Leave a Reply

